Hajime no Ippo Reviews
Hajime no Ippo
Add to Reading List
Title(s): Hajime no Ippo
はじめの一歩
第一神拳
Author(s): MORIKAWA Jyoji
Artist(s): MORIKAWA Jyoji
Genres: Action, Comedy, Drama, Shounen, Sports
Start Date: 1989
Status: Ongoing
Summary:
Makunochi Ippo is an ordinary high school student in Japan. Since he spends most of his time away from school helping his mother run the family business, he doesn't get to enjoy his younger years like most teenagers. Always a target for bullying at school, Ippo's life is one of hardship. One of these after-school bullying sessions turns Ippo's life around for the better, as he is saved by a boxer named Takamura. He decides to follow in Takamura's footsteps and train to become a boxer, giving his life direction and purpose. Ippo's path to perfecting his pugilistic prowess is just beginning.

Won the 15th Kodansha Manga Award for Best Shounen Manga.
Reviews
Summary: (12 reviews) Write A Review
Excellent 10 reviews
83%
83%
Good 1 review
8%
8%
Average 0 reviews
0%
0%
Poor 0 reviews
0%
0%
Very Poor 0 reviews
0%
0%
plz hurry
Written by metrx98 on May 13, 2014 at 2:57 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
ive been reading this for a long time and it is awesome but can u plz stop skipping weeks its just getting to a good part. dont try to rush it.i know u can do it thank u and good luck
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
whoo 1000 chapters
Written by tronheim on December 2, 2012 at 11:58 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
this manga is awesome. one of the best sports mangas around besides Eyeshield 21 I highly recommend it to anyone who loves boxing and violence.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
This read is a real knock out!
Written by Gayford on February 7, 2012 at 8:05 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
As I said before not a fan of sports manga but if I can like this one maybe you could give it a shot.
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Great mana and anime
Written by Faterscag on December 16, 2011 at 12:10 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I love both the manga and the anime more towards manga the thing i love about it is the progress not in the story but dont get me wrong the story progress is amazing but as you read through the artwork developes so much alot of mangas are like that but this one shows so easily its amazing

Lot of people say the manga gets to repetitive but its you actualy think about it its not
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
It couldn't be any better.
Written by simpleplan456 on November 11, 2011 at 11:34 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
If I could give this manga 10 stars, i would have. The story develops wonderfully, and there isn't really much to say for how well the characters are developed. Every character has a rich, exciting background, and we can see their determination, courage, emotions all from the fights alone. Even if the fights are a little unrealistic, its really such a great pleasure to read this amazing, awesome manga. The storyline is sometimes funny, touching, and definitely worth reading. This is the perfect example of a manga which doesn't need supernatural (read more)
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Not a new chapter at all, pretty old.
Written by zero0911 on October 16, 2011 at 9:57 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
Other sites already have had this chapter out for about amonth, why do I care? Cause I was excited of a new release.

Anyways. This is a great manga, I dont box or anything, but this was really fun and great to read.
Not just boxing, you got part of their life, troubles and all. And Ippo is not just some hero who wins everytime, he does lose, his fights are always intense.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Amazing Manga
Written by choco.tummy on September 4, 2011 at 12:49 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
This manga never ceases to deliver a consistently high degree of entertainment. The story is very well developed and is a boxing manga, however, there is a romantic element present in the right places so the whole thing isn't so one dimensional; it's a nice break from the intensity of sports element. That being said, the depiction of boxing is very exaggerated and romanticized which is nice, however the fights are very unrealistic. I think it's a fairly even blend of realistic and unrealistic situations and occurrences (in the ring). Depiction of (read more)
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great story
Written by El-Ski on July 30, 2011 at 8:28 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 4
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I always saw it but never bothered. And once I started to read it I couldn't stop. It is such a good story, sure it can be slow at times, however it is still great. There is tons of action, you can some romance which is cute if you like that stuff. You may get annoyed with the main character but he is still great!
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ippo
Written by lesfix123 on June 19, 2011 at 4:37 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
First off great manga series. Im very disappointed in manga access for not continuing publishing Hajime no Ippo manga series.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Hot bloodedness
Written by rahxephon52 on June 14, 2011 at 7:04 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I don't usually write reviews, but I'm going to give it my best shot. This manga has inspired me in so many way since it's so hotblooded. Aside from that, this manga is action packed, it'll make you laugh, cry, all kinds of good stuff. One of the must read sport manga, like Slam Dunk.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Popular Manga
Recent Reviews
Pandora Hearts
It is one of the greatest manga s ever created. the story is just fantastic. Art is great. And they're Dialogues are perfect....
Skip Beat
it's good but starting to get boring, takes too long for progression on their relation
Bronze
good
2-14 Jiken
good
Mademoiselle Butterfly
love the story
Mashumaro Ecchi
This is a very touching, cute and... philosophic story! Theme is actual for everyone, especially for young people. This is...
Starkana > Manga Series > H > Hajime no Ippo > Reviews > Excellent