Elfen Lied Reviews
Elfen Lied
Add to Reading List
Title(s): Elfen Lied
Эльфийская песнь
エルフェンリート
妖精的旋律
變異體少女
Elfenlied
Elven Song
Author(s): Okamoto Lynn
Artist(s): OKAMOTO Lynn
Genres: Action, Drama, Ecchi, Horror, Mature, Psychological, Romance, Seinen, Supernatural, Tragedy
Start Date: 2002
Status: Completed
Summary:
Some Information Obtained:
The story involves human mutations called "dicloniuses," who grow horns on their heads and possess telekinetic powers, in the form of invisible "arms" called vectors.

The tendency for violence among dicloniuses varies among characters. Certain scientists contain them in a Facility in cells, where they are subject to inhumane experiments to test their abilities or where they await execution for being too dangerous.

An infectious virus is also associated with the mutation. This virus is spread through non-lethal contact with the vectors of a diclonius.

The main non-mutant character in the story is Kouta, who ends up becoming increasingly involved with these dicloniuses, as they seek refuge from the scientists.

The main diclonius character is Lucy/Nyuu, a killer whose alter ego is a hapless and very cute child whose vocabulary and intelligence are quite limited.

After a large amount of choice occurrences, the lives of these two characters become inexplicably intertwined.
Reviews
Summary: (9 reviews) Write A Review
Excellent 9 reviews
100%
100%
Good 0 reviews
0%
0%
Average 0 reviews
0%
0%
Poor 0 reviews
0%
0%
Very Poor 0 reviews
0%
0%
Simply Amazing
Written by Nitrohell on March 5, 2013 at 1:09 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I love this manga.
The quality of the drawing can seem a bit lackluster for some people, but for me the story makes up for it.

I find the ending a bit sad and I wish it had ended up differently, but this is a tragedy manga so an all is well, no one dies happy ending was out of the question.

This is the only story I've read, or in case of movies, watched, so far that putted me on the brim of crying at the end.
Truly an amazing story.
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Manga beats the anime
Written by Kenshin_Kid on December 22, 2012 at 12:56 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
watched the anime on netflix recently and loved it then.

however

i looked at some of the chapters for the manga cuz i couldnt understand how they could fit 107 chapters in a short 13 episode season. THEY CANT.

the manga and anime where very similiar up till maybe half way were the anime ends without closing many majoy plot points. well the manga covers all that and does a great job. at times i thought it wasnt organized as well as it could have been. but still loved it and id recommend it to anyone =]

thanks
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Best manga I ever read
Written by Gayford on February 7, 2012 at 8:20 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
definitely one of the ones you should read before you die.
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
A work of art
Written by silverstarshower on November 20, 2011 at 12:21 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 4
Seriously! If you've watched the anime and not read the manga then your missing out. The anime just doesn't do Elfen Lied justice and I really hope that someone somewhere thinks about redoing the anime, this time to the very end and with a better voice actor for Kouta. This is a tragic story which touches on some very difficult topics such as abuse, bullying and humanity. However its not all doom and gloom because it also contains sweet, funny and romantic moments as well. Its a real work of art and I literally cried for a whole day when I finished. (read more)
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
I just love it
Written by Vanyx on August 20, 2011 at 3:23 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
Some years ago i have seen the anime. The story was great but the end of the anime was just disappointing. After I found the manga here, i started reading it and enjoyed every moment of it. Compared to the other mangas this one is the best of all. When i finished reading, i thought for days only of Elfen Lied. I am not the type of person who likes romance and such things, but this is an exception. I really recommend this for every mature reader. Hope you like it just as I do.
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Five stars
Written by Ashferd_Grayrook on August 11, 2011 at 11:08 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
i loved this manga, it hadeverything for a master piece. Dramtic narrative, a wonderfull (if maybe a little dark) stoy, a decent element of humor at times, and best of all it actually ended in a satisfying way i wouldnt change for the world. A satifying read all around that i highly recomend.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
anime better
Written by hito18 on August 11, 2011 at 9:31 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 4
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 4
i know this ussually dosent happen but i gotta say it the anime was better it wasnt so drawn out and just totally screwed up in the head but over all it was a really good series
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
A very Good Read
Written by DKI94 on August 11, 2011 at 2:36 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I found this manga last week and began reading it. After finishing it earlier today I can say that it was thoroughly enjoyable. Some moments in the game are very dramatic and emotional. The action scenes are entertaining, the plot and execution of the story and the plot are good. The only downside I can see in this manga is that some of the dialogue can be too long and drawn out. I recommend this is you have some free time and want to read an emotional, dramatic, action manga.
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Dark and Deep, A Great Manga for the Mature Reader
Written by darkflame085 on June 30, 2011 at 2:25 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
I loved the Elfen Lied anime and wanted the story to go on, so I read the manga. Simply put, this was my favorite manga of all time. If you are in to the darker side of manga, coupled with an amazing story and depth of character this is the manga for you! Definitely a series geared towards the mature crowd (nudity, violence, etc.).
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Popular Manga
Recent Reviews
Naruto
veryyy gooddd....
One Piece
the best ever that i had read
Beast Master
very well done
Aki Sora
Those last few chapters really just got to me tho, I really just wanted sora to be happy =[
Naruto
Been hooked since I saw ep 150 years ago
The Sword of the  Emperor
This is a great manga it had potential too bad they cut it short the history was very insightful actually it has been one...
Starkana > Manga Series > E > Elfen Lied > Reviews